Import The Site

Now you have your Export file, it’s time to complete the migration of your site. Regardless of whether you are moving the site from a local production site to a new server, or from one host to another, the process is exactly the same.

The starting point for importing the site is a fresh install of WordPress on your destination location. If it’s a brand new site, then all you need to do is organise the hosting and domain name, and install WordPress in your new account. If you are moving a site from one host to another, and you would like to avoid downtime, there are a few extra steps you need to take. There are many ways to do this, depending on your hosting, but basically, you want to be able to log in to your new account and import the site before changing nameservers. My favorite way of doing this is to get the IP address of the new account and use the hosts file on my computer to temporarily map the IP to the domain name, so I can complete the import and only then, when the site has been migrated, change nameservers. This video goes over the process.

OK, so when you have a fresh copy of WordPress installed on your destination location, you then need to install the All-In-One WP migration plugin again. Once you have done that, head over to Import. The dialog you see is as equally simple as the Export one. The only thing to note here is that you might have a low Maximum Upload File Size, as shown in the image below, depending on your hosting. There are good instructions on the Servmask website for how to fix this.

You can see in this second image, that I have increased the file upload size.

IMPORTANT NOTE: All-In-One WP Migration has a built in limit of 512MB for uploading files. To overcome this for larger sites, the Unlimited Extension must be purchased.

Once you are ready to upload simply click on the ‘Import From’ button and navigate to the file you downloaded earlier.

Once you have chose your file, the plugin gets to work preparing the upload. You will see a flurry of activity about Preparing the upload and checking extensions compatibility etc, and then you will be presented with a  screen that lets you know that by continuing on from this point, files and databases will be overwritten. Click Proceed to import your site, or Close to abort at this point. If you proceed, the import begins. This might take a while, depending on how big your site is, and the speed of your host.

When the upload is complete, you are presented with a  final screen, to let you know that your data has been successfully imported. The final thing to do, as the screen indicates, is to log in to the new site (with the old site’s credentials) and save the Permalinks twice. This completes the process, and your site has now been migrated.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.